Amazon wishlist */* Radiant!

Well hello there!

So I’ve been super selfish and added a link to my Amazon wishlist on the right sidebar over there. Yup. No, I know it’s not selfish, it’s practical. I can track what I want to buy and when I am broke (90% of the time) i can wish for someone, somewhere to somehow see it and go “I’m gonna buy a book for that girl because she needs cheering up.”
That would’ve been lovely…a girl can hope, can’t she?? ūüėÄ
*
Things are rough at the time, I’m not going to lie. My mom has just started radiation treatment for her second round of breast cancer. It was 20 years ago she had her first diagnosis. And for 20 years my mom has been sick. She has had pretty much everything in the book.
Breast cancer
Destroyed nerves in left arm caused by surgery during mastectomy.
Metabolism problems
Astma
KOLS
Heart attack
Open heart surgery
Hearing problems/hearing aid
Operations in her calf and arm
Bad back issues
Loss of sight/permanent tunnel vision
Memory issues (this has not been diagnozed but her father has alzheimers)
Breast cancer #2

So yeah. I can’t remember a time my mom was healthy and able to work, let alone go to the mall with me or go for walks.
She’s a bloody hard-hitting and stubborn woman though, but sometimes the wall has got to break. She cries more now. She’s scared, naturally!
But I am so damned proud of her. Today, just a few minutes ago actually, she called me from the hospital, letting me know that she had just finished her first round of radiation.
“How do you feel mum?” I asked.
“Radiant!” She replied.
I could not be more relieved. She is in good spirit! Now just 4 weeks and 4 days remain of this. It’s going to be a long and rough and exhausting journey, for all of us, but we have something to look forward to. We’re all (me, my husband, mom and dad) are going on a boat trip for a weekend in the end of june. I can’t express how awesome that is, seeing as my mom and dad are divorced! We all get to hang out together on a trip! (They’re friends, don’t get me wrong. Dad helps mom out ALL the time and they live close to each other.)

So yeah, that’s my every-day at the moment. I spend a lot of time worrying. And being scared. And fearing the inevitable future. But for right now, she’s here, she’s positive and that is all that matters.

“I am radiant!”

Leave a Reply

