The fault in our stars|The movie|The second time read

((CONTAINS SPOILERS))

Well hello everyone!

So it’s been a week since I went to the movies and saw The fault in ours stars movie. It has taken me a week to get past all my feels and be able to write about it. Yeah, it’s that good.
It’s not often you come across a movie that you feel truly justifies the book, the book that you love and adore. But this one does.It so does! But  I’m not gonna bore you with the details, I’m sure you’ve either read the book or seen the movie!
But I’ll tell out about the girls next to me…

So, not surprisingly, the cinema was filled with mostly teenage girls. I think we counted three guys, included my husband. And we pulled the average age up pretty high. Next to us sat two girls, teens, and even before the movie has started they were flustering and eeking and flailing. I knew they were gonna cry… a lot…
What I hadn’t expected was the tears that came INSTANTLY at movie start! Now I was in a good mood, so it didn’t bother me too much. (Yes I am the kind of girl that irritates easily.) I had a roll of paper with me so I ripped off some and handed it to the one next to me. 
Big mistake. 
Now she saw me as an instant kindred spirit and BEST FRIEND. During the movie there was a lot of sobbing and the ever annoying hand flailing and (loud) breathy comments in the likes of “Oh now! It’s that moment!” and “Oh my God he’s gonna say it!” oh and “Oh no, now it’s happening!!” which, let’s be honest, is NOT what you want to hear during a movie, especially if you don’t know the story. 
At the worst point of the movie the girl next to me suddenly decides to GRAB MY HAND and cling to me. Now I’m not gonna lie, I was crying as well at this point and I had two tissues in that hand (one which neighbour number two had given me…) and she was clutching me so hard it just felt…yucky.
At othe points she almost flung her box of popcorn in my face in an attempt to give me some while staring blurry eyed on the screen.
And let’s not forget that pivoting moment, when Hazel says Agustus has died. My GAWD the wailing from those two. People were already turning and looking at them!
Yes, I cried, a lot, but at least I managed to hold it to myself! And this was a terrible distraction. And it did spoil it a bit for me.
But nonetheless, it was SUCH a great movie! My god I loved every minute of it! Amazing cast, amazing production and so so much of the book was in it. I could mouth out the lines with them!

 

Prior to the movie I decided to reread the book. I also chose to mark all my favorite bits so I could get them all down in my review. My book is now filled with page markers. 34 places of massive FEELS.
This book is my very soul. The day I had finished it and didn’t need to take it with me to work it physically hurt to leave it behind! Wow, am I crazy? Might be. But FEELS.

I was quite sure I hadn’t seen him before. Long and leany muscular, he dwarfed the molded plastic elementary chair he was sitting in. Mahogany hair, straight and short. He looked my age, maybe a year older, and he sat with his tailbone against the edge of the chair, his posture aggressively poor, one hand half in a pocket of dark jeans.

  Our first meeting with Augustus. Well, Hazel’s first sighting of Augustus.

“Oh, I’m grand.” Augustus Waters smiled with a corner of his mouth. “I’m on a rollercoaster that only goes up, my friend.”

One of the many epic and memorable quotes by Augustus!

“I fear oblivion.” he said without a moment’s pause. “I fear it like the proverbial blind man who’s afraid of the dark.”

And another one.

(…)the spring air just on the cold side of perfect, the late-afternoon light heavenly in its hurtfulness.

My absolutely number one favorite quote! I mean, who else than John Green can describe early spring this poetically??

“They don’t kill you unless you light them, (…) and I’ve never lit one. It’s a metaphor, see: You put the killing thing right between your teeth, but you don’t give it the power to do it’s killing.”

HOW DO YOU EVEN, JOHN GREEN. 

AIA is about this girl named Anna (who narrates the story) and her one-eyed mom, who is a professional gardener obsessed with tulips, and they have a normal lower-middle-class life in a little central California town until Anna gets this rare blood cancer. But it’s not a cancer book.

I seriously want to read An imperial affliction.

“That’s the thing about pain,” Augustus said, and then glanced back at me. “It demands to be felt.”

FEELS.

“Okay.” He said after forever. “Maybe okay will be our forever.” “Okay.” I said.

This is what the whole book and movie is made up by. In case you haven’t noticed.

“I’m like a grenade, mom. I’m a grenade and at some point I’m going to blow up and I would like to minimize the casualties, okay?

I don’t think this feeling in Hazel could be described in a better way. 

“The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars/But in ourselves.”

And there you have it.

What a slut time is. She screws everybody. 

Truth!

“You realize that trying to keep your distance from me will not lessen my affection for you.”

UGH Gus you’re just so PERF!

I fell in love the way you fall a sleep; slowly , and then all at once.

Hazel had her lines as well. FEELS!

“The risen sun too bright in her losing eyes.” he said, a line from An Imperial Affliction.

Van Houten aka Green aka Van Houten. Again; how does he even.

“I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasures of saying true things. I’m in love with you, and I know that love is just a shout into the void, and that oblivion is inevitable, and that we’re all doomed and that there will come a day when all our labor has been returned to dust, and I know the sun will swallow the only earth we’ll ever have, and I am in love with you.”

Good luck guys, who in the future will declare your love to someone, you will never beat Gus.

“Come quickly: I am tasting the stars.”

Dom Pérignon was a true romantic.

“Oh, I wouldn’t mind, Hazel Grace. It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you.”

Another amazing proclamation of love from Gus. Everyone (!) knows this by heart. It is pure gold.

“(…) some infinities are bigger than other infinities.”

“You are a side effect,” Van Houten continued, “of an evolutionary process that cares little for individual lives. You are a failed experiment in mutation!”

OUCH. Van Houten is a damaged man and his only defence is anger. I don’t think he hated or disliked Hazel and Gus as much as the cancer in them.

“Apparently the world is not a wish-granting factory.”

True words that just HURT in this book.

According to the conventions of the genre, Augustus Waters kept his sense of humor till the end, did not for a moment waiver in his courage, and his spirit soared like an indomitable eagle until the world itself could not contain his joyous soul.

FEEEEEEELS # 3

(Insert Hazel and Isaac’s eulogy here because I can’t read them without CRYING)

Seriously, I can’t.

“I love you, present tense.”

PUDDLE OF TEARS.

“Grief does not change you, Hazel. It reveals you.”

 Van Houten reveals his truths.

“My thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations.” 

This is my mantra now. (I’m sorry I can’t come up with any deep, lengthy comments now, the feels…)

I do, Augustus. I do.

 

I can’t wait for it to come out on Blu-ray so I can watch it alone on my 90″ and CRY until there’s nothing left.

Thank you, John Green.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

