The Plantagenets by Derek Wilson

12527198

The Plantagenets. The kings that made Britain. (The picture is from the hardcover I believe)
Derek Wilson
Paperback
Publisher: Quercus Editions Ltd.
Number of dodos: dodododododododododo/5

This was an absolutely fascinating read. I have always been fascinated with the royal house and especially that of the English house. Lately it has also been extremely fascinating for me because my genealogy show I am a direct descendent, first and foremost of Robert de Bruce of Scotland, but also Edward IV and Elizabeth Woodville (direct ancestor, 18 generations) ! Which means my blood is British AND Scottish royalty. ūüėČ

This book starts with the “Plantagenet father” Henry II and follows the line all the way up to the last Plantagenet, Richard III. It’s an easy and entertaining read with great facts and a very clear line of events, making it easy to follow.

I accompanied it with watching “The hollow crown”, the filmed Shakespeare plays about Richard II, Henry IV and Henry V, starring Ben Whishaw, Rory Kinnear (my hero), Jeremy Irons and Tom Hiddleston. I absolutely recommend watching this, especially Richard II. Ben Whishaw is a GIFT and it’s an absolutely amazing story.

I think that you can never learn or read enough about Englands royal history, so I truly recommend this book to everyone who wants to get a good read AND learn more about the colourful royalties, the battles and murders, plots and treasons that makes history so much more fun. ūüėČ

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

